Founded in 1961, the University of Waikato Rugby Club (formerly known as Waikato University Rugby Football Club or WURFC)
has a 50 year tradition of providing the best platform for talented rugby players to reach higher honours,
as well as give them experiences they can cherish for life.

The University club has both student and non-student players and members. The club will field five sides in 2019: 
Premier A and Premier B sides in the top tier of the Waikato Mens competition, an Under 85kg team, a Colts team and a Womens team. 
The club also caters for our up and coming generation of rugby players through Taiohi Juniors. 

We are looking forward to a successful 2019 season, building on the excellent results of our Womens team in 2018, and continuing the momentum gained by all of our mens teams.